THANKFUL FOR FRIENDSHIP

I gathered around the table with my family this Thanksgiving, and stepped out of myself.  I do this from time-to-time.  It clears the head and gives perspective.  How I love family!  Everyone talking at once, babies crying, cats growling, great food, laughter, and joy. I drive home wrapped in a cocoon of warmth and security, thankful for blood family.  However, I am just as grateful for my “other” families.    
There are times when I wax philosophical and think deep, especially after a couple shots of Captain Morgan.  I ponder the mysteries of the Universe—our purpose,  reincarnation, extraterrestrials, who’s idea was money,  why do we have to work five days a week and only have two days off instead of the other way around—you get the idea.  The more “The Captain” and I talk, the more I think God got it wrong.  Then, it hits me.  God didn’t get it wrong.  People did.  Darn that “free-will” stuff! 
 But all is not lost.  One of the most important things People did get right is friendship.
What a terrible existence this would be without friends!
I am blessed with many friendship families: co-workers, witchy, four-legged, and writer to name a few.  So, this year I’m dedicating Thankgiving to my friends. A Girl Scout song, learned many, many years in the past, sums it up:  “Make new friends, but keep the old.  One is silver and the other gold.”
 In my book, all are golden.
This entry was posted in reincarnation, Thanksgiving. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to THANKFUL FOR FRIENDSHIP

  1. ka says:

    Right on!! And a happy-happy Thankful day to you. (and don't forget your blog-friends too)

  2. Jan Morrill says:

    Thank you for sharing your Thanksgiving "truth," Ruth. Friends like you are one of the things I'm most thankful for!

Leave a Reply

