KISS

This week’s flash fiction promt by Madison Woods streached my imgination.  What kind of story can I write? No words came. Only silence.  And then, in the quiet, came the thought,  “Keep it simple, stupid!”
I love KISS, so here is my story for this week and Madison’s magical picture prompt:

          Very few things in life are black and white.  Simple. Mankind loves to complicate the easy, to improve on the basic.   But Mother Nature, in all her wisdom, reminds us that there is great beauty to behold in simple black and white:



The Skunk

Dalmatians.

 

The Moon
The Crow



The Dove

The balance of the positive and the negative working together in harmony, the wisdom in keeping things simple, results in beautiful magic.

This entry was posted in Friday Fictioneers, Madison Woods, R.H.Burkett, Ruth Burkett Weeks. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to KISS

  1. Jim Burkett says:

    Basics…Enuf said.

  2. Claire says:

    Oh, that's fabulous, Ruthie! Brilliant even! I'm hanging a picture of a skunk in my work space so I'll remember KISS. It's simple, baby!!

  3. Ruth says:

    Oh, Jimboy. One word says it all. Love ya!

  4. Ruth says:

    Thanks, Judee for your comment and for reading.

  5. Ruth says:

    Claire, I knew you would like KISS!

  6. Amen, sister. Great photos too.

  7. Shirley says:

    I loved the photos too. Nothing beats B&W. Thx for the reminder of the simple things.

  8. Ted Strutz says:

    Imaginative take on the prompt. Yes… KISS… good to remember.

  9. Back to basics, I see. KISS. (I love KISS too.)This was a great blog post. And it is more a blog post than a story, but no less impressive. I like the point you made.

  10. Lora says:

    How clever. Love the dove photo. Here's mine:www.triplemoonstar.blogspot.com

  11. Palooski65 says:

    Ruth, I LOVED your post–one of my favorites for this prompt. KISS acronym was especially clever. I also enjoyed the black and white pictures that you included. Very nicely done.

  12. Ruth says:

    Thanks, Shirley. I really had to stop and think of what is black and white in nature! I forgot the Zebra. darn!

  13. Ruth says:

    Thanks Ted for your comment and for reading my blog.

  14. Ruth says:

    Lora, I love triplemoonstar for a blog name. Very magical. Loved your story too. thanks for the comment and for reading my blog.

  15. Ruth says:

    Thanks, Palooski65. I always look forward to your comments.

  16. Russell says:

    Just like words upon a manuscript. Simple B & W

  17. Madison Woods says:

    I'm late to the party, but I really did enjoy your philosophy on KISS!

  18. Shirley says:

    That is just too cute. We all know cars have souls.Mine's at http://shirleymccann.blogspot.com/2012/03/fitting-end.html

  19. Lora says:

    Hi Ruth…It's 4/14/12 and just now caught your comment re. my blog name: triplemoonstar I kind of like it too. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

