BEST FRIENDS FOREVER (BFF)

scan0005scan0004???????????????????

Here’s to Sally, Cynthia, and Kailee Jo!

Yesterday I attended my great-niece’s 10th birthday party. Along with family, Kailee Jo invited friends from her volleyball team. Sorry to say I don’t remember their names because they all stared with K and were all blondes. But the thing I do remember is Kailee saying, this girl is my BFF. Boy, did that bring back memories.

In case you’re not up on computerize, BFF means, “Best Friend Forever.” BFFs are those friends that are just a little more special then the rest. I had two while I was growing up. Sally and Cynthia. Funny, but I don’t really remember how the three came to be, but I’m guessing it was through Girl Scouts.

BFFs can’t be predicted. No one can explain the bond of friendship. Cynthia had horses, which endeared her to me right-off-the-bat. Sally shared my love for horses, so the three of us became inseparable. We were known as The Three musketeers of Girl Scout Troop 78.

Cynthia, like I said, was the horsewoman of the three. She had a horse named Fireball that intimidated most of us, but was putty in her hands. She’d run the barrels on Fireball. I’d sit in the bleachers and watch, wishing with all my heart, I was the one spurring the flanks of that great, red racer. However Cynthia always shared Fireball and her horses with Sally and me which was a great sacrifice. After I got my horse I understood how hard it was to hand over the reins to others less experienced. Cynthia was also a great artist. She could draw anything and breathe life into the images with colors and shadows.

Sally was the brains of the three, not that Cynthia and I weren’t smart. Sally was in all the “accelerated” classes in school. Math, English, etc. etc.. Her dad was the Dean of Agricultural at the University of Arkansas and I think he demanded that of Sally. I don’t recall her ever saying that, however. Sally had blonde hair that hung past her waist. She not only shared my love for horses but of books as well. I remember sleepovers at her house where all we did the following day was read. Her on one end of the bed, me on the other. All day. Just reading. In comfortable silence.

BFFs don’t judge. BFFs have your back. BFFs hang together. BFFs understand your moods,tears, and fears. I could tell Sally and Cynthia anything. Stuff I knew Mama would never understand. And they could tell me anything. BFFs can keep secrets.

BFFs make life bearable.

As is often the case, friends go in and out of your life. Sally lives in Virginia and has two grown boys and grandchildren. Grandchild! Never would’ve thought that when we were nine years old.

I’ve lost track of Cynthia.

But no matter how old I get or if I never hear from my two childhood pals again, there will always be a place in my heart reserved just for those two BFFs. My childhood was that much richer due to them and that strong bond of friendship that no one can predict or explain.

So,here’s to you, Kailee Jo Burkett. My life always bless you with BFFs.

This entry was posted in freindship and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to BEST FRIENDS FOREVER (BFF)

  1. Jan Morrill says:

    BFFs make the world a better place, that’s for sure. And I like that “forever” can even start at midlife. 🙂

  2. Touching, Ruth. Brought tears to my eyes. My BFF passed away from cancer last April. My other BFF passed away quite a few years ago. I miss them both, though we lived apart for many years. I visited on occasion and we would have some good laughs about those bygone days that are so far in my past now I’m surprised I remember them. Thanks for this reminder.

  3. rgayer55 says:

    Ya’ll quit saying stuff like that, you’re going to get me choked up. I lost a BFF a couple years back to cancer, he was only 50. Another is a cousin who lives nearby. We don’t hang together like we did as teenager, but the bond is still there. I’d also have to list my fishing buddy, David, as a BFF. We can pretty much read each other’s minds.

Leave a Reply

