Birthdays do a body Good

witchy woman bday

Last week I had a birthday. I’ve noticed that day rolls around every 365 days. I had a wonderful day.

My co-workers had a “comfort food day” in celebration of my birthday. Mashed potatoes, mac and cheese, green bean casserole, rolls, creamed corn, chicken, and a wonderful, yummy cherry/chocolate cake.

My writing buddies continued the celebration by giving me an awesome “witchy-woman” cake, cards, and presents tailored just for me.

Universe out did itself, threw a big celestial party, and gave me a lunar eclipse!

I laid in bed that birthday night and waxed philosophical. I do that from time-to-time usually after consuming large amounts of Captain Morgan. I did celebrate with the Captain but as it was a school night I decided to only have one drink. What I concluded after this very deep, insightful mind trip was that birthdays are hugely important.

I’m fortune in that I have a twin brother to share my birthday with. It’s comforting to know that even if everyone in the world forgot my special day, there will always be one person who doesn’t. But what about those people that have no one to acknowledge their special day? It isn’t the presents and certainly not the fact that you’re a year older that makes birthdays so important. It’s knowing that out of 365 days in a year, one of those is YOUR day. And no matter how old you are, that day should be a celebration.

I remember when my nephew turned seven (I think). My ex-husband and I gave him a goldfish in a bowl. Why? Because he wanted one. Yes,goldfish are messy. Yes, goldfish don’t stick around that long. Yes, my nephew was only seven and chances were pretty good Mom would have to remember to clean the bowl and feed Nemo. Not the point. The kid wanted one. Even though I’ve forgotten which birthday it was (six, seven, eight?), I will never forget the look on my nephew’s face when he got that simple gift. Brian is 34 years old now but he still talks about that goldfish. Was it really the fish that impressed him so much? Nope. It was the fact that someone loved him so much, someone was so happy that he came into the world, that they wanted to do something special just for him.

Birthdays are important because it’s the day you graced the world with your presence. Think of all the love you brought into being because you were born on that day.

Send a card, an email, text, or phone call on someone’s birthday. believe me it matters. Birthdays do a body good.

This entry was posted in birthdays and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Birthdays do a body Good

  1. Jan Morrill says:

    Especially as we get older, each and every birthday –heck, each and every day–is a blessing. Glad you had a good one. 🙂

  2. Good advice, Ruth! Many people have NO ONE who will celebrate them even a little, especially our elders. Loneliness actually shortens life, and makes it joyless.When we know someone’s birthday, we can at least give them a call or a hug. It makes getting through the next year a whole lot easier.
    So glad you had a great b-day. “God danced the day you were born!”

  3. rgayer55 says:

    A wise man once said, “Have a birthday is better than the alternative.” I strongly agree that they are a cause for celebration. All it takes is for someone to acknowledge the fact that we’re still alive and kicking. Happy belated Birthday, Ruth. I’m glad you had such a great time. I loved the line about bringing a lot of love into the world. You sure do that!

Leave a Reply

