COLOR OF THE DAY: ORANGE

orange

The minute I type the word, orange, I can smell the fruit. Now, that’s a powerful! This brings to mind a poignant story:

In my quest for spiritual enlightenment, I took weekly classes in metaphysics. Often during these classes we took part in guided meditations. A guided meditation is when the guru of the hour “leads” his students through a meditation by basically telling a story. It goes something like this:
“Sit up straight, feet on the floor, shut your eyes, and listen to my voice. You are walking through a peaceful valley. Hear the birds singing, smell the flowers. You come to a stream. Cross the stream. Now you see a cave. Go into the cave. A radiant figure appears, an Indian chief, or an angel. This is your guide.” Get the idea?

These guided journeys never worked for me, but I gave them my all thinking I had to in order to become spiritual. One particular meditation was on colors. Orange was the first color. Everything was clicking along pretty good. I was sitting up, eyes closed, feet on the floor, the whole nine yards, when the instructor said, “the scent of orange is like wet, burlap.”

WHAT! BACK THE TRUCK UP! This guy is nuts.

His statement pulled me right out of any peaceful state I was in. Oranges are fresh, citrus, refreshing, wonderful, happiness all wrapped up a tough, tangy peel. No way in hell did they smell like wet burlap.

Needless to say, that was the beginning of the end for me and these classes. And guess what I discovered? Spirituality is within yourself. You don’t need fancy meditations to find your guide or your way. In fact, when my guide showed up, I gave him an orange that smelled like fruity sunshine. We both had a good laugh.

This entry was posted in color and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to COLOR OF THE DAY: ORANGE

  1. Orange you glad you listened to your own inner wisdom! Vivid story. Way to go!

  2. rgayer55 says:

    They don’t call oranges “liquid sunshine” for nothing.

  3. nancyhartney says:

    Orange — a favorite color. And, being raised in Florida, it is counted among my favorite fruits.

Leave a Reply

