COLOR OF THE DAY: TOPAZ

topaz

If Jack Daniels were a ring, it would be a topaz.

November’s birthstone is the topaz.

When I was in grade school, Grandma was my hero. She still is. Grandma could shoot a snake out of a tree with her single shot Henry rifle. She could ride a horse bareback. She wrote short-stories and poems. She and I put my first jigsaw puzzle together. In her last will and testament, she bequeathed me not only enough money to buy my first horse with but her topaz ring as well.

When I was a Junior in High School I spent my summers as a Girl Scout Camp Counselor. Mama begged me not to wear my topaz ring to camp. She said I would lose it, which would break her heart as well as mine. But. I was a teenager. Do you think I listened to my Mama? Hell no. I knew everything. I knew I would never, ever lose that ring. But guess what?

I did.

I was late getting back to the unit from a day spent at the swimming pool. I’d taken the ring off because I didn’t want to slip off in the water. When I gathered my clothes up, I forgot the ring was on top and . . . well, you can guess the rest. Did I tell Mama I’d lost it? Hell no! I’m not stupid.

When gremlins took my keys or pens at home and hid them from me, Daddy always said, “Nothing is lost in God’s world. The keys are in their rightful place.” I held to that thought all camping season. The last week of camp, a girl from my unit found the ring in the middle of a trail and brought to me. She didn’t know it was my ring, she just wanted to share what she had found. What were the odds? There were eighty girls in that camp. One of my girls had found it.

Never, ever, doubt the power of Universe.

My pretty. My precious had come back to me.

This entry was posted in color and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to COLOR OF THE DAY: TOPAZ

  1. rgayer55 says:

    What a great story, Ruth. I have a November birthday as well. I had never thought of topaz and Jack Daniels in the same sentence, but from now on they’ll be forever linked in my mind. 🙂

    • truthsbyruth says:

      Russell, I was trying to think how to describe the color of topaz and the first thought that jumped into my mind was that it is the color of whiskey. The jump to Jack Daniels wasn’t that big of a leap.

  2. Topaz means a lot to me, and I love your posts Telling stories that we can relate to is so wise. Topaz was the name of the publisher under the umbrella of Penguin that published my first books. And your story reminded me of something that I did while in Girl Scout Camp, nothing like yours, it just came to me while reading yours. That should be the goal of all writers, touch the reader in the heart.

    • truthsbyruth says:

      I thought of your Topaz when doing this blog. When I first ment you, you were writing for them. Moonspun Promises? Is that right? Girl Scout camp and being a couselor was the best thing that ever happened to me. So glad you like my posts.

  3. nancyhartney says:

    Topaz. . . yes, the color of whiskey. A rather delicious post.

Leave a Reply

