COLOR OF THE DAY: TOO POOPED TO PUTT PUCE

tired

I have no idea what the color of puce really is. It sounds really yucky which is why I picked it to describe the kind of day I had. Geez, Louise. I was busier than a three-legged cat covering up crap. As dear, ol’ Dad would say, “I’m too pooped to putt.”

Where Daddy got his sayings is anyone’s guess. As a kid, I often thought he just threw letters together and made up words. Pookey, gobbledygook, and jabberbox were some of his favorites. Later on I discovered that these were real words. Kinda disappointing to me.

Daddy played the guitar and sang. I remember the night he sang the song, Strawberry Roan. “Down in the horse corral standing alone was an old caballo, a Strawberry Roan. He had little pinears that met at the tip and big 44 brand on his left hip.”

Wow! I was so impressed. I thought Daddy made that whole song up on the fly. When he told me it was a honest-to-God-cowboy song, I didn’t believe him. (I think Marty Robbins sang it but I’m not sure.) It really burst my bubble when I found out the song was quite real and Daddy hadn’t written one word of it.

Another favorite song Daddy sang was, “Winkum, Blinkum, and Nod.” This song is a beautiful baby lullaby. It may sound corny, but the night my Sissy cat was dying, I rocked her and whispered the words in her tiny ear. I think I sang it more to comfort me than her, but she curled in my lap and quieted. To this day, I get teary-eyed thinking about it.

Didn’t mean to get sentimental on ya.

Back to my day. Busy, busy. When I got home, I poured a glass of iced-tea, hit the recliner, and waited for my dragging ass to crawl up the porch steps and knock on the door. And guess what? I get to do it all again tomorrow.

Like Daddy would say, “Gotta make hay while the sun shines!”

This entry was posted in memories and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to COLOR OF THE DAY: TOO POOPED TO PUTT PUCE

  1. You sure take me back sometimes. Strawberry Roan. My Dad used to sing that too, and another of his favorites was “I’m Gonna Leave Old Texas Now, For they have no use for the long horn cow.” Do you think we’ll get in trouble with musicians quoting more than four words of copyrighted songs? Maybe those are public domain by now. I’m enjoying your posts.

    • truthsbyruth says:

      Velda, small world, isn’t it. I doubt we have anythig to fear about copyrights. Those songs are older than dirt. You know you inspire me to come up with posts that you like. keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

