COLOR OF THE DAY: PEACH

peach

Everything is peachy-keen. Wonder where that saying came from? I use it a lot, usually in a sarcastic tone of voice.

Peach is a peaceful color. Kinda orange. Sorta yellow. A hint of pink. Very soothing.

You can’t beat a fresh, ripe peach picked right off the tree. We had a peach tree in our yard when I was a kid. I never really thought about eating the fruit that much. The honey bees were thick on the peaches that fell on the ground and got squashed.

One of the best summers I ever remember revolved around peaches and ice-cream. I was 13 and my two uncles who lived in Marysville, Kansas were coming to visit. Daddy had invited them to the Rodeo of the Ozarks. Both my uncles were ol’ horse trainers from way-back. A good rodeo was Mecca to them. It was the first time we had ever gone to the Rodeo of the Ozarks, and I was ready to jump out-of-my-skin just thinking about all those horses.

First, we went to the rodeo parade. It didn’t matter is was so hot you could fry hamburgers on the sidewalk. Daddy, my uncles, and I studied every horse that pranced and danced down main street. Sometimes Uncle Jimmy would nod his head and say, “Look at the high-stepper.” Uncle Clayton, who was round as a beer barrel, would point at the horse’s withers and say, “Look at the soap-suds on that one.” Uncle Jimmy was a fan of the Morgan horse. Couldn’t beat a Morgan. I didn’t know a Morgan from a Shetland pony.

All the family went to the rodeo the night of July 4th. Holy cow! At that time, everyone who rode in the Grand Entry got a free ticket to the rodeo, so everyone crawled out of the woodwork. Mules, ponies, goats, anything you could throw a leg over and ride. It was such a fun time! At times we’d laugh so hard, I swear Uncle Clayton was going to lose his false teeth.

When we got home from the rodeo, Mama served peaches and ice-cream on the front porch. All of us sat outside on that wonderful, balmy summer night, under a moon so big and bright you could reach out touch it. Honeysuckle so thick you could taste it. Uncle Jimmy may have been a fan of the Morgan horse but Uncle Clayton was a huge fan of peaches and ice-cream. He ate and ate, and ate. Then he’d burp real loud and say, “Excuse me, must be those damn peaches and ice-cream.” Why we thought that was so funny, beats me. But we were on the ground rolling. Ah, good times!

Family, rodeo, laughter, peaches and ice-cream under the full moon. Folks, it just don’t get better than that!

This entry was posted in color and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to COLOR OF THE DAY: PEACH

  1. rgayer55 says:

    We had an old peach orchard, Alberta’s – a canning peach. I remember having a rotten peach fight with some other kids and hit one boy in eye. The rotten peach splattered all over him and the pit gave him a black eye. His sister chased me all around the orchard and beat me to a pulp if she’d caught me.

Leave a Reply

