Time in a Bottle

Sante FE 6

“If I could put time in a bottle,” is a line from a song that I love. I think Enstein said time is realitive. Gurus from all over the place teach to live in the moment, that it isn’t productive to dwell in the past. I understand what the great Masters are saying, however, just like everything these advanced teachers say, not living in the past is easier said than done. I am the world’s worst when it comes to staying in the moment.

Last week I lived in the past. The week before, three of my best friends and I went to a writing retreat in Red River, New Mexico with a stop over in Santa Fe. I had never been to that part of the country and I’d been looking forward to the trip for a year. Sometimes anticipation is better than the real thing. Thankfully this was not the case. The trip was everything I hoped for and better.

First of all, anytime these three freinds and I get together you can bet laughter runs amok. Sixteen hours in a car provided us with tons of laughs, and we talked about everything from soup to nuts. Destination is the goal, but the journey is the adventure. I don’t have to tell you that four women on a sixteen hour road trip can be very exciting. Just stopping to pee can be interesting. Not going into too much detail, I will say that I left my mark and DNA on the rocks just outside Santa Fe. When ya’ gotta go, ya gotta go! Of course, a rest stop was only a mile up the road. Huh. Who knew?

We stopped in Tucumcari, New Mexico because of me. I’m writing a book whose main character, Dixie Dandelion lived in Six Shooter Siding, aka present day Tucumcari. There was no way we were going to drive right by without stopping and doing research. Poor Tucumcari is a hole-in-the-wall kind of place. But right there in the middle of town was a boarded up old saloon with a huge sign that read, “Six Shooter Siding!” Aggg! Talk about living in the past! Dixie had returned home. Only took over 100 years, but she made it.

“Amarillo by morning,” is another song lyric I like. We stopped in Amarillo, Texas for lunch and . . . shopping! Heck fire. We can shop anytime we want at Dressbarn at home, but a Dressbarn in Amarillo? Way more fun! Fifty dollars and a green jacket later, we hit the trail again.

Santa Fe was awesome! We stayed the night with Gypsy Jan’s family resulting in me making a connection with two wonderful kindred spirits. I walked the streets of Santa Fe lost in time. Women all have the “Santa Fe” look with boots and turquiose. I could see outlaws and regagade Indians galloping across the flatlands and lining the mesas.

I struggled to stay in the moment and enjoy every minute of the trip.

If I could put time in a bottle, my house would be one huge bottle filled with memories forever pressed into my heart. There are many more adventures and road trips waiting in the wings with my freinds and I, but sometimes, when I’m in need of a pick-me-up, I travel back in time.

Hmm . . . I wonder if Dressbarn sells bottles?

This entry was posted in freindship and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Time in a Bottle

  1. Jim "Sparky" Burkett says:

    You have a bottle already. It’s called the brain, and there your memories will stay forever and a day! God made us that way so we could in some ways have time in a bottle. He also gave us a lid so it wouldn’t run amuck!

  2. Jan Morrill says:

    It was a time filled with memories to last forever, Ruthie. I still need to finish sending you pictures! I’ll do that in the morning. Then, you can post your Six Shooter Siding photo! Hugs!

  3. rgayer55 says:

    Sounds like a great time was had by all. Good for you!

  4. Beth Carter says:

    I love traveling with women, pee and all. Sounds like you had a blast and I love that part of the country–the scenery, history, weather, and yes, the boots and turquoise jewelry. 🙂 But Dress Barn? Couldn’t you find a cool local boutique? haha Never mind. I always stop at T.J. Maxx no matter what state I’m in.

  5. nancyhartney says:

    WOW! I envy the trip, the friendship, and a sharing of the writing life. Go GALS.

Leave a Reply

