Owl Magic

owl 1

 

 

Last week here in NW Arkansas sucked!  There is no other word for it.  Snow and
ice on Sunday, Monday, and Tuesday. Since sliding down Bull Hill and almost causing a pileup and my liver to jump into my heart, I will not drive when there is snow and ice on the road. Dear Benton County seems to forget Hwy 12 in those wintery mix times, so I stay at home.  Going stir crazy.

I made it into work on Friday.  It was a good day. I found out I got a new position that I’d been trying to get for many years. It made the week from hell bearable. But the best part of the whole week, month, and New Year was what I found sitting on my mailbox when I got home. 

An owl!

I think it was a barred owl.  He was so stinkin’ cute!  Kinda small. But OMG, I about screamed. I didn’t.  I just sat in the car saying, “Oh my God” over and over. This owl was a sign from the gods.  I equate Grandma with both the owl and bluejay. I knew Grandma had popped in to say howdy.

According to Animal Speak by Ted Andrews, the owl represents the mystery of magic, omens, silent wisdom, and vision of the night. There are tons of myths surrounding the owl but it is a symbol of the feminine, the moon, and the night. Ah, music to my ears! 

In my new novel, The Church of the Howling Moon (coming soon) my hero, Bethany Ann, can transform into a jaguar. I picked the jaguar because it too represents the feminine, the moon, and is the ruler of the night.  Coincidence ?  I think not. 

Grandma sent me message from the great beyond:  finish the book!  Weave magic, symbols, mystery, and myth through out the pages.  Stay the course, Ruthie, my love.  It will be a great book!

Who can argue with Owl Magic?

This entry was posted in paranormal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Owl Magic

  1. I’m with grandma and the owl on this one. Finish that brilliant book!

  2. Duke Pennell says:

    Hear, hear! Absolutely, finish that book! I love it!

  3. Jim "Sparky" Burkett says:

    Never ever argue with Owl Magic……….

  4. Ruth, always wonderful to see an owl up close. If very small could’ve been a screech owl. My grandmother and the Cherokee claim that if you see an owl someone is going to pass on to their great reward. But I like you, love to see owls or to hear them call to each other in the dark of night. You must finish that great book, no matter what. Glad your grandmother came to call.

Leave a Reply

