Yea God!

trees

On my way to lunch the other day I cut down a back street to avoid traffic. The sun was shining. A soft breeze blew. It was one of those magical fall days that I love so well. Perfect weather. Not too hot. Not too cold. Just right. I glanced over into a manicured yard and saw a huge tree dressed in its best fall coat of brilliant red. The sun hit the leaves and the whole tree dazzled in fire. Totally awesome. I stopped the car in the middle of the street, sat there, and drank in the beauty. It was one of those, stop and smell the roses, moment.

I asked God some questions: Did you really plan all of this when you made the world? How and why did you determine, “well in summer my trees will be green but in the fall I’ll change them into flaming reds, golden yellows, and pumpkin orange?” Or was this changing of the colors a mistake that just happened? Like the discovery of penicillin. Or did you give the trees free will and the oaks and maples just decided they were tired of green and wanted something different? Like a woman when she changes her hair color.

I wondered if anyone ever asked these kind of questions of God. I could just picture His big smile when I asked them. “Oh, that Ruth. Always thinking outside the box.” Of course that prompted the question, “Did you mean to make me this way? This inquisitive over such small things? I ask Him big questions too. Why all the suffering? Why man’s inhumanity to man? Stuff like that. He’s used to those questions. Everyone asks those.

Often I tell him, “Hey God, you got a wonderful tree there. Oh, and I really like the crows. Thanks for creating birds especially the crows. Thanks for creating dogs and cats. Did you really plan on how much your humans would fall in love with your animals? Did you really know about service dogs and how they would help your children? Seriously, God. That’s a lot of advanced planning. How did you keep in all straight?”

A few years ago the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pen took a road trip. We saw tons of God’s beauty along the way and we commented on the splendor. One of the Sisters yelled out, “Yea God!” That stuck with me. How cool. I find myself saying that a lot.

“Yea God!”

Wonder how many people say that?

This entry was posted in color and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yea God!

Leave a Reply

