Karma and The Golden Rule

Daddy was a Christian Scientist, therefore my brother and I were raised in this religion. Mama was a Methodist. How did this work? Well, if my brother and I became sick, Daddy prayed over us while Mama poked pills down our throat. The best of two worlds to my way of thinking.

Now before I go any further, I need to add this disclaimer: even though I was raised in Christian Science, what I actually know about the religion is very little. As a child the phrase, "oh you don't believe in doctors" was the standard response when asked what faith I was. This is not true. Christian Scientists know doctors serve a very important cause, they just choose to seek healing by prayer instead of medicine. Also, please know, I am in no way, shape, or form bashing the Christian Science religion. I have received numerous healings from Daddy's praying and diligent work and while I don't embrace the religion whole hog, I do agree and practice parts of it. Christian Scientists all around the globe work daily for peace, harmony, and enlightenment. How can I not embrace this?

However . . .

In every religion, or more accurately, in every aspect of life, there are fanatics. While I won't go so far as to say Daddy was fanatical about his beliefs, I will say he was extremely devoted. To my knowledge he never argued with Mama when she went to the doctor but secretly he wasn't thrilled about it either. The fact that my brother and I received the polio vaccine or that we took aspirin for headaches and fever was a closely guarded secret. I never heard him ridicule anyone who didn't believe the way he did, but deep down, at least in my opinion, he laughed at them. He didn't understand nor did he want to.

So, where am I going with this?

On my spiritual quest I learned about Karma. Simply put, Karma means, "what goes around, comes around." Do bad things, bad things will come back to haunt you usually three times worse than your victim's. Of course the flip-side is also true, good deeds work the same way. It dawned on me that Karma and The Golden Rule are the same thing: "do unto others as you would have them do unto you."
I am a firm believer in Karma because I have experienced it's essence to the fullest, both good and bad. In thinking over my childhood it also dawned on me that while secretly resenting Mama's belief in medicine, Daddy created bad Karma.

And it bit him in the ass. Daddy had a stroke.

He sought healing through his religion but never received it. The faith he so vehemently defended and practiced failed to heal him. Why? Because, in my opinion, he had very important life lessons to learn. Lessons that all through his life he turned his nose up at. The lesson of forgiveness. Of tolerance. Of humility. Of understanding. A few days before his death he confessed to my oldest brother, he now understood why Mama and others turned to the medical profession for help and how much he regretted not telling her this when she was alive. In the end, this realization did heal Daddy as his suffering was brought to an end. I like to think, he is progressing even more in this understanding on the other side.

I am very close to an individual who made fun and had no tolerance for Daddy. "I don't understand why he can't walk better. He's so slow. He can't do anything. He's a pain in the ass." I cringed inside for many reasons but mainly because I knew Karma was riding his way. This person now suffers from ataxia and nephropathy. Daddy could've run circles around him. He's in constant pain and nothing seems to help. Ironic, isn't it? Of course, the urge to say, "Karma" is overwhelming and I have hinted at this, but he doesn't get it. It is my belief until he makes the connection and asks for forgiveness, relief will be slow in coming.

Do you know someone who is suffering and can't receive healing? Maybe even yourself? Perhaps going back and examining their or your actions throughout life may help. Did they or you "do unto others as they would do unto you?" Just food for thought.

I try not to judge others as I have no idea what they're going through. It's a difficult lesson for me. I don't always succeed. However, I am grateful that I'm aware and am working towards this goal. Some people don't have a clue. I feel sorry for them. I hope they wake up and try to abide by the Golden Rule. Because, believe me . . .

Karma can be a bitch.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Karma and The Golden Rule

  1. Linda Apple says:

    Excellent Ruthie! Loved this!

  2. Jan Vanek says:

    Karma helps me to let go. What will be, will be. Good post, Ruthie! ❤

Leave a comment