BENCH LUNCH

This week’s photo prompt from Madison Woods for Friday Fictioneers had me stumped unitl 1:00 in the morning when an idea popped into my head.  Here’s what I came up with:

Two seagulls:  Gertrude and Heathcliff:

Heathcliff:   “I wonder who will be the first to sit on the bench today?”
Gertrude:     “Oh, I do hope it’s the bag lady.  She always shares her bread with us.”
Heathcliff:     “If that mama brings her two brats to play, I’m leaving.  Those kids like to chase me.”

Gertrude (chuckling):  Now, dear, boys will be boys.”

Heathcliff:      “A tweak from my beak in their seat would stop such foolishness.”
Gertrude:       “Maybe that elderly couple will sit in the sunshine and hold hands later. (Sigh) So romantic.”

Heathcliff (nuzzling her neck):   “Just like us, me amour.”

Gertrude: (preening her feathers)   “Oh, Heath, you know how I get when you speak French.”
Heathcliff:       “French!  Suzie Secretary likes to sit on the bench and eat lunch from McDonalds.  French  fries today, baby.”
Gertrude: (disgusted)   “Is food all you think about?”
Heathcliff:        “I’m a bird, Gert. Get over it.”
This entry was posted in Friday Fictioneers, Madison Woods, McDonalds, R.H.Burkett, Ruth Burkett Weeks, seagull. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to BENCH LUNCH

  1. Luna Zega says:

    very cute! I love thinking from an animal's POV. They're a lot nicer than humans.

  2. Jim Burkett says:

    Awwww you told it so well, that I could hear the accent of Red Skelton's voices of Gertrude, and Healthcliff!

  3. Ruth says:

    I totally agree!

  4. Ruth says:

    Thanks, Sandra.

  5. Ruth says:

    I read yours. Good job! The cat at the top of your blog looks like mine.

  6. Ruth says:

    Woo-hoo! I think you're the only one that gets that the two seagulls were Red Skelton's. I could hear him in my head and see him fluffling up his hair. Gee, I wish his show would come back on. Thanks, Jim. You got what I was trying to do. I can always count on my bro!

  7. Beth says:

    What a unique take. Loved the dialogue between the seagulls which helped us easily envision the bench people. Fun!Mine is here: http:// banterwithbeth.blogspot.com

  8. Lora says:

    Two adorable and hungry seagulls chatting about humans. Charming. Unique POV. Here's mine:www.triplemoonstar.blogspot.com

  9. Shirley says:

    Cute story. I had no idea they were birds until the end, though reading back through it, I SHOULD have. Mine: http://shirleymccann.blogspot.com/2012/04/nightmare.html

  10. Jan Morrill says:

    You're so clever, writing from the POV of the birds. I LOVE this!

  11. It was fun to read a seagull couple's perspective, sounded just like things they'd bicker about.

Leave a Reply

